Far too long

29 09 2009

It’s been over a month since my last blog post. I have no idea why that is … but I would take a guess by saying that I have nothing important to say? Or maybe I do, but I can’t conceptualise them into words needed for a post. Or …

Anyway, today I procrastinated so badly. I have a 2,500 word research report due by midnight tomorrow, and I only carried on with this evening. Like after I had coffee at 8 or so. Luckily, I had gotten about 1,518 words done before the long weekend started, so it’s not really in crisis mode just yet.

Tonight I managed to knock out another 1,000 words or so. So I am actually over the word limit already, even if I have not yet finished the assignment. I actually had to remove a sub-heading that I was planning on doing, because I could see that I was going over the word limit.

But enough boring assignment talk. Let’s go over the long weekend. International readers (hahahah yeah right), we had Heritage Day on Thursday 24th September, and most places decided that Friday would be wasteful and not productive (well, universities anyway). Therefore, long weekend.

Anyway, Wednesday night (because the weekend always starts the evening before the conventional weekend) the GF came over and slept over. Not exactly sure what we did on Wednesday night (I think we played Scrabble and watched How I Met Your Mother?).

Thursday morning I had a stupid information management group meeting. Yes, on a public holiday. If any of you guys are reading this, I think you’re all stupid. Stupid people. We wasted like 20 minutes discussing something so ridiculously small and trivial, and something that I feel isn’t even part of the project. So I wasted 2.5 hours of my public holiday wishing I was back home and still asleep. After that I came home and we had boerewors rolls for lunch. I think we may have played another game of Scrabble (me and the GF), but I’m not sure.

Man my memory is bad sometimes. I can’t even remember what happened like a few days ago. Anyway.

Friday was project day. Nothing exciting, just worked on the information management project. Well, aside from a brief-stop over from the GF again (she dropped off the most amazing present: a whole big tin filled with sweets chocolates and other incredible stuff) she left again.

Saturday, I went to Clearwater Mall and traded out my inFAMOUS rental copy at BT Games. My new game is FEAR 2: Project Origin. It’s not that great a game, decent enough but I’m not going to get the platinum because the online trophies are crazy hard. Long and basically impossible because there is not enough of a community still playing the game. Oh well. Oh, I also went and surprised the GF with a bunch of flowers at her work.

Saturday afternoon me and Brian went to a hardcore/metal concert thing. It was pretty good, some decent bands played like Hammer of Redemption and Chromium. We also listened to Agro play and they are not entirely as bad as we thought they were. I still think they would be much better without the synthesizer though. Oh and they are so lame. Their one song is about how drugs are bad and the other is about binge drinking in excess. Hahaha.

Sunday was such an amazing day. I woke up early, and me and the GF went to watch Sri Lanka and New Zealand play cricket at the Wanderers. The sun was hot and the food/drinks were expensive, but it was such an amazing experience, especially since all the live cricket I’d seen prior to that was from a box, which is way far removed from the actual proceedings.

We got back about half an hour after New Zealand won, and watched South Africa lose to England in Centurion (on the TV though).

All in all a pretty good weekend. What did you guys do?

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 09 2009
Kelly

I had a decent weekend… it went like this… Work, day off = movie night and shopping, sat = work, beerfest, 21st (oh got lost going to 21st). Sun = Work, Cats and amazing ice cream.

It was a good weekend besides the fact I am so far behind on work its crazy!!!

1 10 2009
Chris

Friday: Work, Stones Featherbrooke (Really weird night) with gf + her sister, and friends.
Saturday: Worked remotely on a server, and went to spur for my nephew’s Birthday.
Sunday: Woke up at 4, left at 5:30 for sun city, got summer splash tickets which includes: entrance to sun city + valley of the waves, icecream, a meal and drink (debonaires / steers / fishaways), a draught, 50% off a segway tour, 50% off water world and 10 tokens at the arcade. Listen to Flat Stanley. Went on all the rides, got burnt and got home at 9:30.

1 10 2009
Caroline

Sounds like an awesome, amazing weekend 🙂 So nice to get a post from you again!!

21 10 2009
ironicrantings

Mine was not too bad:

Thursday: Nothing
Friday: Work
Saturday:Work and then Concert thing
Sunday: Nothing.

Good thing my life is so action packed and filled with stuff to do and people to do that stuff with otherwise i would just sit at home doing nothing… oh wait…

10 03 2010
Caroline

stop being such an attention whore, Brian!!

Leave a Reply

