International Band? Check!

12 05 2009

Another item to check off my list! “See an international music act”.

So as mentioned, I got my ticket for Haste the Day (My second favourite band, I’d say…) a while ago. I don’t know if the tickets were selling badly or what, but they dropped the price, so when we (Me and Brian) went to the event, we were given the option of either getting a ticket to another show, or R60 cash back per ticket. Not being willing to go to a show on Tuesday night in Edenvale (at Doors), I chose the cash.

The venue was Tempos Entertainment Park … unfortunately. I really don’t like that place. The sound is terribly uneven and this makes it hurt my ears and leave them ringing. Quite annoying. Also, it seems that the bands also struggle to play there, as when Knave played they were sound-checking for quite a while and were being quite sarcastic while they checked. Things like “I guess that’ll have to do”. Also, when a band is still fine-tuning their levels 4 songs into a 6 song set, there is some problem. But anyway.

In my opinion, it would have been better to host the event at a venue with one stage being used, instead of the three different places that Tempos used. Just like at the Underoath concert a few months back, where everybody will know which bands and playing where, instead of running around the venue trying to work out which stage is which. I mean seriously, put some signs up or something Tempos?

The bands lined up to play did nothing for me. Aside from Knave, there was really nothing that stood out for me. Again, the venue might have made everybody sound worse? But I doubt it. Knave were awesome as usual, and aside from the greedy jackasses “stealing” all the free stuff being thrown out, it was a really great set.

And then … the main event. Haste the Day. Wow. They blew my mind. Simply amazing they were. The crowd packed into the tiny venue, and when a mosh pit tried to break out, there was simply no room to get it properly started. So, everybody pretty much just pushed the people in the middle back and forth, and bumped into each other. It was quite a workout trying to stay upright and push all the idiots off you. I almost drowned in the pit, as I lost my footing and fell to the ground. Luckily some people picked me up though. I love the kindness shown in the pits. Everybody went mad for Haste the Day, and I was so sad when they finished without an encore.

Merch πŸ™‚ I managed to pick up a relatively cheap copy of their new CD: Dreamer, as well as two awesome shirts. I love merch πŸ™‚ Oh, and the lead singer was signing stuff at the merch table, but I had no idea who he was (until later when he was on stage, singing) so I didn’t get anything signed. Probably for the best, because otherwise I wouldn’t be able to wash my shirt. In hindsight it would have been cool to get my CD signed. Oh well πŸ™‚

All in all a great day. Really awesome, and I got to check another thing off my list!

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 05 2009
ironicrantings

Tempo’s is a dump in every way!

12 05 2009
Caroline

Yay!! Am glad you had an awesome time πŸ™‚

19 06 2009
Brian

WOW dry spell. over a month since last post.

Leave a Reply

