Forward Motion

29 01 2009

We are all striving towards something. We all have goals, hopes, dreams that we one day hope to achieve. But getting to these dreams from where we are right now is difficult. There are obstacles in the way that impede our progress. What is your dream? Maybe it’s to become a famous author. What is standing in your way? The fact that you are studying a BCom degree? Just in case, so you have something to fall back on

When we are young, like little kids, life is so simple. Everything we want physically is taken care of, meals, shelter, transport. I think that’s why little kids are so full of dreams: they don’t have to worry about taking care of the physical, so they are able to project themselves forward into their dream carreers. When have you ever heard a little kid saying “I want to be an actuary” or “I wish I could someday become an accountant for a big firm”. No, with little kids it’s always the most amazing jobs, astronauts, doctors, lawyers, firemen. Ok, in reality, some of those jobs are not that glamorous, but as little kids, nobody knows or cares about the realities of these jobs.

So what changes as we get older? Well, as we get older and older, we get more and more responsibility. Our parents generally let us have more independence and this leads to more responsibility such as buying our own clothing, for example. And thus, we need to get part-time jobs to afford these things. And let’s face it, I don’t think anybody dreams of being a waitron as a little kid, but it is something that needs to be done.

I guess what I’m saying is that unless we make a concerted effort to hold onto our dreams tightly, life is going to trample us and leave us broken by the curbside. Ok, that’s a really harsh way of putting it, but come on, I think it’s a fairly apt metaphor?

Forward motion is what propels us toward our dreams. By holding onto them, we are able to withstand the realities that hold us back from our dreams. What is your dream? What are you striving toward? Or what were you striving toward? Maybe it is time to pick your old dream up again and dust it off and start striving again. Just a suggestion.

Me? What am I striving for? Hmmm, well I have been thinking tonight, and I just want to do a job that I love and earn enough to live comfortably. What job do I love. Well I was thinking, and aside from the obvious getting into the gaming industry somehow, like reviewer, possibly getting involved in the game creation process would also be cool. Possibly as a game designer, or lead story writer or something of the like. That would be amazing.

Another option which I have always been fascinated by (at least since I heard the term about two years ago) is that of a “coolhunter”. Essentially, a CoolHunter’s job is to keep on the cutting edge of the youth demographic and do research in whatever way to discover what is “cool”, to aid in advertising. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it? It does to me.

Anyway, that’s my post. Been a while hasn’t it. As usual, comments to the usual place.

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 01 2009
Brian

Really cool and inspiring post! But picking up your dream can be hard sometimes when your dreams are all in confliction with each other.

29 01 2009
Chris

I think my dream job would be webdesign and development. Where I get to use my programming and graphic design skills. It might still become a full time thing oneday. I’m glad I get to at least do a little work now. 😛

1 02 2009
Caroline

When you a little kid, you don’t realise that even the dream-jobs are shitty. Like take mine… Woke up early to study, heard Whisky is gone and am still shaking off some or other infection I picked up at the hospital. So, ja, am grumpy.
Awesome post, by the way, I have so much faith in you and I know you are going to make it!! I pray that you never give up in you… but you won’t because I’ll kick your arse.

2 02 2009
Kelly

Your post for some arb reason triggered a quote from the great novel The Great Gatsby….

“Gatsby believed in the green light, the Orgiastic future that year by year recedes before us. It eluded us then, but that’s no matter-tomorrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms father… And one fine morning-so we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

This is my favourite quote…. *sigh*.

Great blog Mike, there is no doubt you wont make it… if you don’t then you will find something that works on your terms… I know it…
😀

Leave a Reply

