Signs

8 06 2008

Have you ever asked God for a sign? Something to let you know that he approves of whatever feeble plan or decision you have made or were going to make? I know I have, on more than one occasion. And just like Gideon in the old testament, I am never happy with just one sign. I keep thinking “Hmmmm, maybe that was just a fluke. A chance. A coincidence.” And besides, without specifying what kind of sign you want, and knowing that you are actively going to be on the lookout for anything that could be interpreted as a sign, there is a high chance of random occurrences being mistaken as signs from God.

“They” say that signs always come in threes. I have no idea who “they” are and how they got to that measurement, but it seems widely accepted enough to have some meaning to it, maybe?

So anyway, I asked for a sign about something a little while back. Something really arbitrary and small in the greater scheme of things, but I wanted to know if God supported it. I asked about the possibility of a long distance relationship with this one girl. How trivial, you might think, God has better things to do than worry about your pathetic dating life. Well, I’ve always been a believer in “Ask and ye shall receive”, so I asked, but now I’m not sure if I have received or not. Here’s the deal:

When I first asked for a sign, something happened almost immediately. Something that was not impossible to have been total fluke or coincidence, but it seems like enough of a random occurrence to be taken as a sign. Something that was in relation to a Facebook status that I had put up.  But then, I wasn’t sure. So I asked for another sign. And then I had the dream I described in my last blog, with this girl appearing in it. Now, again that is quite possibly a coincidence and not at all proof of any divine intervention or sign, but then again … how can you tell?

So right now I guess I am just waiting for the magical number three, before I make any decision about it. Should I just keep waiting or should I actually ask for a third sign? Or should I just drop the whole thing and stop bothering The Big Guy upstairs with my trivial problems? I don’t know. I feel bad asking, because I mean, who am I? Less than nothing.

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 06 2008
calia77

The thing with signs, and I’ve been thinking about them a lot, as there have been a few ‘signs’ in my life, is that at some point you actually have to make a decision. Personally, I find signs great for deferring responsibility. But working with my spiritual director, I’m learning that I need to take responsibility, make decisions, and learn that even if I make a ‘mistake’, what’s the worst that could happen? And anyway, who can say if something is a mistake or not? Maybe it’s just a different path to the way home.

Good luck with your signs and decisions. For what it’s worth, life’s too short: GO FOR IT!

8 06 2008
Mike

That is an awesome piece of advice and a really good point.
Why wait your whole life for a sign when you can just go out and do it? I mean, it’s not something of dire, life-or-death importance, so what do I have to lose?

8 06 2008
kellyansara

I have to say I am with Calia77 on this one… Great blog by the way (just incase I forget to say it)… Why wait around for a blowing breeze to knock you off your feet… Mike life isn’t about the number of breathes you take.. its about the moments that take your breath away.. if this girl does that for you.. THEN DIVE HEAD LONG INTO THE ICY WATER AND HEY MAYBE YOU WILL BOB BACK UP FOR AIR!!!!!!

9 06 2008
Brian knott

I agree with them. And feel that as long as you go into the relationship with God guiding you you should be fine. I dont believe in jumping without thought. All needs to be considered and in this case i think you gone from considering to tedding out. I say

9 06 2008
Brian knott

Make a choice. And like you say. Whats the worse that can happen? She could get obsessed and never leave you alone being an annoyance all your life. Haha. Eventually killing your would be wife. Lol! But maybe not

Leave a Reply

