WoW … Stories?

15 04 2008

I don’t play World of Warcraft. I have little desire to, beyond peer pressure. However, people seem to have this weird desire, nay, compulsion, to tell me all of their WoW stories. Why is this? I don’t play WoW, so I don’t know all of the terminology that you are throwing at me. I don’t care that you got a new sword that does 150 dps that can be dual wielded or that you aggro-ed a mob during a raid instance, or that you healer sucked so bad because he didn’t debuff the dots. What does that mean to me?

Ok, so in all fairness, I do know a little more than the average person about WoW. For instance, I know what all of the above stuff means actually. I just don’t care. I don’t play WoW, so why would I want to hear your stories about WoW? Are you maybe hoping to get me interested in the game, so that I too can pay a monthly fee to play a game online? Or do you actually think that I care about your gaming experiences? Perhaps you think that I enjoy hearing tales of how your virtual, non-existent character sold a 20 pile of bronze bars for 30 gold at the auction house? Well, you’re wrong.

Of course, if I ask you, while trying to make conversation, how the WoW is going, then sure, feel free to go off at me about DPS and Aggro and Epic sets of loot and all that. That’s fine, and do you know why? Because I asked for it. But please, just randomly going off on a WoW tangent is like getting spam: it’s unsolicited and unappreciated.

All this applied, of course, until I get my own character and start playing the game myself, when I too will probably start randomly telling bored people who don’t play the game all about my Draenai shaman who took out these two horde warriors the other day in the PvPE server. When that happens, please slap me in the face. Hard.

Quote for the day – “Arguing on the internet is like running in the special Olympics. You may win, but you’re still retarded”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

