My Birthday

14 04 2008

Well, today was my birthday. The big 21. And it was awesome. First, let me tell you about my day, step by step.

Well, on Saturday night, my friends and I went out to this nightclub called Truth. It wasn’t as full as it normally is, probably due to the weather, which was overcast and I think it had rained earlier. But anyway, it was still awesome, despite being emptier than usual. Needless to say we enjoyed our car bar, which I had bought earlier (Spiced Gold and Romanov Vodka with Pepsi, MIranda and 7Up mixers). So yes, I raved in my 22nd year of life at Truth.

Then, we got home at about 3:30 or so on the morning of my birthday. I went to bed and fell asleep almost instantly. Woke up at about 11:20 or so, and did the whole happy birthday thing with my family. Gifts were exchanged, which I will get to in a bit. After having a piece of the awesomest chocolate cake ever for breakfast, we sat around and watched South Africa lose against India in the cricket, until about 13:00, when we left for my birthday lunch, at the Cattle Baron at Clearwater Lifestyle Crossing, a shopping center in Little Falls. Oh yes, before I forget, before we left my friend Peter came over and dropped off his present for me. Very cool that he made the effort to drop it off personally on my birthday and all. Respect to him.

My dad had gone to fetch my grandmother, and we met my brother and his girlfriend there as well. After ordering some starters (stuffed mushrooms, venison on crackers and calamari rings – mmmm), we put in our main course orders. Before those arrived, however, the manager came over and told us about this special promotion that they were having: for every certain number of Appletizers or Grapetizers that we ordered, we would get some free stuff. Ha ha ha, everybody loves free stuff. So at the end of the meal, we had gotten an Appletizer T-Shirt, an Appletizer cap, an Appletizer bar of soap, Appletizer shower gel, Appletizer body butter and an awesome Appletizer cooler bag. Free stuff! Yay!

Anyway, then the main courses came. I had ordered the special, which was a 200g sirloin steak, which came with 250g of prawns. Yes, I realise the irony of ordering seafood in a steakhouse, but I knew from experience that they would be awesome. And of course, they were awesome. Everybody else ordered their respective dishes, and a great time was had by all. At least, they all said that they enjoyed their food.

From there we went home and had more cake (after allowing some time for the food to settle of course). Then it was sitting around a bit more, talking, watching TV, and just generally enjoying the lazy Sunday afternoon. At about 7, after playing some Guitar Hero III with my brother, my other friend Brian came over and we went up to McDonalds for ice-creams, although I ended up getting a double cheeseburger, which was good, but was nothing compared to the amazing lunch I had had earlier… Anyway, we chatted for a while there, before he came back to my house to get his ass handed to him in Guitar Hero.

After Brian had left, I had some coffee and just kinda spent the rest of the day at the PC, saying thanks to everybody who had wished me on Facebook, and just generally savouring the last remaining hours of my birthday. Oh yes, I watched quite a few episodes of My Name is Earl as well, and that’s what I was doing when my birthday ended. Besides that, I was also chatting with some people who were online at the same time.

All in all, a really awesome day. Thanks once again to all people who gave gifts, sent wishes and congratulations and thought about me. Ok, so here’s the final gift tally, not counting the one other gift that I know is definitely still coming from my other friend Tarryn (I think it’s going to be a DVD, watch this space) – I’ll add that as an edit when I receive it.

  • From Brian – A collection of Monty Python’s favourite sketches, as chosen by the original members of Monty Python.
  • From my parents – Money, a book: The Return of the South African Insult, a certificate, certifying that I am”undeniably gob-smackingly gorgeous amazingly fabtastic utterly brilliant all the time just smashin’ and is just generally the nicest bestest person ever in the entire history of everything who is 21″, and a card.
  • From my grandmothers – Money and a card.
  • From Peter – A Look & Listen gift voucher.
  • From my brother, Geoff – A Look & Listen gift voucher.
  • **EDIT** – From Tarryn – A book: The Hero With A Thousand Faces and a chocolate key.

Ok so here’s a list (because I’m in the mood for lists), of all the people who sent me birthday wishes, either in person, by sms, MSN, phonecall or on Facebook.

  • By SMS – Tarryn (00:04). Brian (06:53). The South African National Blood Service (07:02). First National Bank (09:15). Brian’s parents (09:58). Matthew (10:49). My one aunt (12:20). George (20:03).
  • By Phone – My other aunt (12:50)
  • In Person – Donovan, Alan, Peter (twice, on two separate occasions), My dad, My mom, My brother Grant, My brother Geoff, My brother’s Girlfriend Nikki, My grandmother, Brian.
  • On MSN – Donovan, Greg (who was not aware that it was my birthday, he loses points for me having to remind him.)
  • On Facebook – Tarryn (12:11). Adrian (05:59). Tina (8:24). My brother Grant (10:43). Calla (13:35). Ingrid (15:56). Maria (16:18). Kelly (19:22). Bianca (20:00).

Thanks once again to all of the above people! And to all those who didn’t wish me … you suck.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

