The Difference Between Ted and I

11 04 2008

— Warning, the following post contains spoilers for the TV show, How I Met Your Mother. Reader discretion is advised if you do not want the first and second season finales spoiler. You have been warned —

You can see that I have work to do. Otherwise I would not have gotten around to writing this blog. Isn’t procrastination a terrible thing?

Ok so you all know Ted from How I Met Your Mother, right? Not? Well he’s the main character, and the whole series centers around his looking for a wife.

Anyway, at the end of season 1, he and what he thinks is his dream girl finally get together. However, at the end of the second season, they break up. However, right from the start Ted knew that Robin didn’t want to get married or have kids, something that Ted did want. But Ted, being blinding by love (?), decided to go into the relationship anyway, regardless that the facts were against him. In the end the relationship ended badly.

Now, if I were in Ted’s shoes, my feet would probably hurt. Lol.

If I were in Ted’s shoes, I would not even have gone into that relationship to begin with, knowing that it was doomed to failure. If you know a relationship has no future beyond the short term, is it worth it going into that relationship to being with? I suppose that each relationship is unique in this regard, with no set standard. But for the most part, I wouldn’t enter a relationship if I knew that there was no future.

But that’s just me. What do you guys think?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

